*Program details are still being planned. We will meet many glass artists in Murano, see wonderful sights in Venice, have a day trip to the north of Venice and see history in Florence.
Located inside a historic Murano glass factory, known as the De Majo furnace, the new 4-star superior NH Collection Murano has recently opened to guests. Designed by H&A Associati, the complex consists of 12 buildings showing many traces of the historic glass-making activities.
Davide Salvadore is from a family of Venetian glassworkers. In 1987, he and two partners founded the studio Campagnol e Salvadore, where he works as a glass master. Salvadore is also a founding member of Centro Studio Vetro, in Murano, a nonprofit association that aims to promote the culture and art of glass.
During the fifteenth century, developments in Venice’s commercial activities led to the Sea Customs House, which had previously been near the Arsenal, being transferred to the western point of Dorsoduro. The building as it stands today was completed in 1682, five years before the nearby Basilia of the Salute. Architect Giuiseppe Benoni’s work is characterised by the tower surmounted by a sculptural group representing two Atlases lifting a golden bronze sphere on the top of which is Fortune, which, by turning, indicates the direction of the wind. The building continued to be a customs house, and thus intrinsically linked to the city’s history, until the 1980s. After twenty years of abandonment, the Venice city council announced a tender to transform it into a contemporary art space. The Pinault Collection was awarded the tender in 2007, and entrusted the restoration of the imposing complex to architect Tadao Ando. In June 2009, after 14 months of work, Punta della Dogana reopened to the public and since then has been presenting temporary exhibitions.
Designed by Architect Vittoria, on commission from the Bernardo family, the Palace was built in 1550. What is now the building's main façade – covered entirety by fresco' s - originally formed the side of the building that overlooked the garden, where Ca' Rezzonico now stands. Around 200 years ago, the current owner's ancestors added a new Italian garden to the palace, demolishing a series of houses on the side closest to the Grand Canal in the process and gave the Palazzo Nani Bernardo an entirely new, and harmonious aspect that is still evident today.
Located in the province of Treviso in the Veneto region, Villa Barbaro is a large villa designed and built by Andrea Palladio in the second half of the 16th century. The influential architect was hired, along with painter Paolo Veronese, by Marcantonio Barbaro, a politician and diplomat in the Republic of Venice who belonged to the aristocratic Barbaro family. An admirer of both Palladio and Veronese, he commissioned them respectively with the reconstruction and decoration of an old medieval building belonging to the family, transforming it into a true work of art.
The most significant project in Carlo Scarpa’s career is probably the Brion Sanctuary, located about 20 kilometers north of Venice. It is a private burial ground designed as an addition to the municipal cemetery of San Vito d’Altivole for the Brion family. This project is a synthesis of the successive influences that have marked Scarpa’s career: his knowledge of history, his interests in regionalism and his capacity for constructive invention.
The large Gothic palazzo which hosts the museum, was transformed by Mariano Fortuny into his own atelier of photography, stage-design, textile-design and painting. The building retains the rooms and structures created by Fortuny, together with tapestries and collections.
For almost a thousand years, the Doge’s Palace, together with St. Mark’s Basilica, was the religious and political centre of the proud naval power of Venice. A total of 120 Doges determined the destiny of the city-state. Impressive as its power is its architecture. Although the Venetian Gothic dominates, you can also find Byzantine and Renaissance style elements on its facades, staircases and gates, courtyard and in the interiors. To its splendour contributed the most famous artists of their time and created works of immense value.
Since the 12th century, the traditional crafts or “arti” have been organized into guilds, from the seven major (arti maggiori), to the nine minor (arti minori), and the five middle (arti mediane) guilds. Every craft was categorized into one of these guilds, and had to operate within a set of strict rules. For instance, at the end of the 15th century, tanneries had to be located along the Arno River. Goldsmiths occupied the Santo Spirito neighbourhood, before the Medici decided to move them to the Ponte Vecchio area to replace the smelly butchers a century later. Many other artisans occupied the poorer sections of the Oltrarno district on the southern bank of the Arno River that remains a cluster of craftsmen to this day.
The Gallery entirely occupies the first and second floors of the large building constructed between 1560 and 1580 and designed by Giorgio Vasari. It is famous worldwide for its outstanding collections of ancient sculptures and paintings (from the Middle Ages to the Modern period). The collections of paintings from the 14th-century and Renaissance period include some absolute masterpieces: Giotto, Simone Martini, Piero della Francesca, Beato Angelico, Filippo Lippi, Botticelli, Mantegna, Correggio, Leonardo, Raffaello, Michelangelo and Caravaggio, in addition to many precious works by European painters (mainly German, Dutch and Flemish).
Set in the heart of the Renaissance city, neighbouring with the majestic Duomo and Michelangelo’s David, lies the home of the iconic Florentine brand, Emilio Pucci, on Via de’ Pucci 6. Palazzo Pucci, residence of the Pucci family and previous headquarters of the Maison until 2017, has been part of the history of Florence since the 13th century. Within its walls, since June 2018, The Emilio Pucci Heritage Hub has dedicated itself to nurturing brand culture and history by celebrating the Pucci brand and its iconic heritage.
The Palazzo, designed in 1489 by the architect Giuliano da Sangallo, Lorenzo il Magnifico's favorite, has facades designed with three degrading orders of rusticated pietra forte. It was designed for the banker Giuliano Gondi Il Vecchio, on the ruins of the ancient Roman Theatre, above which a tower had also been built to house the study of the notary Ser Piero Da Vinci, Leonardo's father. The latter, from his father's window, drew the Hanged Man and, it seems, the Annunciation.
*Please note that this programme will be subject to change.